6530 Garden

After yesterday’s beautiful weather (getting the fever) and today’s not-so-beautiful weather (inability to go outside, well, just don’t want to get cold), I’m finally getting to the garden planning. I pictured earlier in the blog “The Organic Fruit and Vegetable Gardener’s Year” by Graham Clarke. I’m taking copious notes, because that’s how I roll.

So far, I’ve learned about weed control, compost and companion planting. Sometimes, I have to learn the hard way, you know – where you blaze forward, thinking you are doing the right thing, a simple task. The scientist and I built a compost bin back in December. (That happened to be the day that lives in infamy with the dog. (Another day, another blog) We recycled a pallet from delivered firewood, made a few cuts, and added some chicken wire. VIOLA!

Image

I selected a spot behind the shed 1) to keep the stink down, 2) not visible from the house and 3) I plan on using the shed for all gardening tools. Possession is 9/10 of the law, right?!?!? The blazing forward exposed part comes in after I read today that compost should NOT be located under pine trees due to the “litter and residue from these conifers hold back the rotting process”. Whoops!

When you move to Elizabeth, locals will ask “Are you in the trees?” Seriously! There’s the trees, there’s the plains. We’re in the trees. I guess the scientist and I will be moving the compost bin.

 

Leave a Reply

