Book Review

I looked back and it’s been a month since I last posted. I have read a few books and gone to the Colorado Christian Writer’s Conference. I’ve been finishing up home school and working on a few projects that was spurred on by the conference. More to come later. In the meantime, I read:

Dear Me: A Letter to My Sixteen-Year-Old Self

DearMe_bookcover.php

“Dear Me” by Joseph Galliano was sitting on the library book shelf waiting for me to pick it up and read. I think it was another one of those timing things. I don’t know the author or if he has written/edited other books. This was a quick read. The book contains letters by “famous” people written to their sixteen year old selves. (Although, I did find myself looking at the front of the book that explained who some of these people were)

Most of the letters contained warnings for this or that, all contain some type of encouragement. While some are pages long, others hail no sense of taking the project seriously. Some seem to be an egotistical, honorarium to their partying, younger selves, while others feel the need to explain away why they should not do X behavior.

I laughed. I didn’t cry, but was often touched by the stories. I would recommend this book. I would even go so far as to use this book as a gift for a struggling sixteen year old.

Leave a Reply

