Deer or Tree?

Snow/sleet/fog?

Deer or tree. It’s a game we city folks play out in the country. Sometimes, you just can’t tell, especially this time of year when colors of wildlife and wildflowers are changing. We play the same game with snow, sleet or fog. I don’t know can you tell?

Well, anyway, the temperature has dropped, the distinct “ding, ding, ding” from the weather alert on the TV tells me it’s FALL!! Yippeee!!!

That means it’s soup time. Stew to be exact. My mom’s famous chicken stew. Some might call it Brunswick Stew, but only if Georgia is somewhere on your birth certificate. Comfort food. Happy Place. Pure bliss in a spoon.

Just like my famous Chicken Pot Pie, it’s easier than it looks. And also like my Chicken Pot Pie, always a hit for chilly nights. Warms the belly, warms the soul. Mine anyway.

Warning: the recipe you are about to embarked on, can, has been and will be doubled, tripled and altered to your desire. I measure the first time I try a recipe, the next time is more like a game of spice roulette.

It’s starts with a chicken. I roasted mine in the crock. You can use leftovers or whatever.

Roasted earlier in the day

Time to pick the chick

Next, I cube and cook the potatoes. Don’t, I SAY – DON’T cook them fully. They will finish cooking in the stew. I used Yukon gold for a firm bite.
Potatoes

In the meantime, when the chicken is done, pick it to the bone, chop, chunk or shred (whatever makes you happy).

Add all ingredients. Now, this looks like it doesn’t have enough “juice”. No worries! After simmering for 30 minutes, the juices from the corn and the tomatoes will have released, making a yummy stew.

Chicken Stew

  • Good Size Chicken (yep, that’s what I said, it is an old recipe)
  • 1 can of tomatoes (not drained)
  • 1 can of corn (definitely drained)
  • Finely chopped onion (well, do you like a lot of onion or not? You chose the size)
  • 3 Tbs vinegar (I used Apple Cider Vinegar, it goes well with the Tabasco)
  • 2 Tbs brown sugar
  • 1 ½ tsp Tabasco
  • 3 Tbs Worcestershire sauce (with a mama from the deep south and a husband from the south… of Jersey, you can pronounce it however you want)
  • Potatoes – I used about 5 medium Yukon Gold
  • 2 Tbs Butter
  • ½ cup Catsup

Simmer 30 minutes.

Chicken Stew

Notice my mom’s handwriting on an old recipe card.

Friends, this recipe is easily doubled, beefed up (chickened up, yes that’s a word I just made up) to feed all the teenagers. Enjoy and stay warm.

Leave a Reply

