J for Juju

JThose who know me, know I say “That’s bad juju”. I don’t know where I came up with that slang. I love to use words in weird ways. I love to read books whose authors incorporate words into dialog or descriptions that make me think. So, just like when I knew my older children had new friends because they used a new slang word, I probably did the same through some prolific written word. I do know it’s bad and usually refers to something bad in nature and use it accordingly. I looked it up today.

Juju – noun

1. an object venerated superstitiously and used as a fetish or amulet by tribal peoples of West Africa.

2. the magical power attributed to such an object.

My Christian heart palpitated a little.heart palp

It’s also a computer term. Some type of application (probably more than that). Juju works at the service level, not the machine level, allowing you to manage your applications efficiently at scale.

You can configure, manage and tune at service level with the flexibility to deep dive into a node. That doesn’t sound so bad, right?

Juju’s powerful GUI and command-line interface make it easy (because it’s on the internet and everything on the internet is true, right?) to define, configure, deploy, manage, monitor and scale out your services to any public or private cloud.

Juju is devops distilled. What is devops? Check this out! Don’t you love graphics?Devops.svg

What in the world does this have to do with gluten free? Well, think about it. Just like Juju uses charms to provide shareable, re-usable expressions, so does the GF community, the cookbooks, the resources on the internet that have eased my best practice. I have quality assurance because someone did (Software Engineering) the math, the chemistry, the cooking to test using different flour blends and substitutions. Someone already has the Technology worked out (the mixer, the grinder, the veggie spiral machine) by purchasing, testing, cutting their fingers. Just me? Okay.

So, I haven’t really left the technology world from eighteen years ago. I have good JUJU! I’m just lucky enough to participate in applying those processes in another way. It’s GOOD JUJU! And we’re getting healthy. And we’re feeling better.

4 thoughts on “J for Juju

  1. I’ve heard “good juju” maybe in a movie, someplace, somewhere – I can’t remember. It’s a fun little expression but I never think to use it.
    ~Visiting from AtoZ

  2. We have so many food allergies and intolerances in our family – including gluten/celiac depending on the individual – that I’m still experimenting. However, I have found the wealth of cookbooks and information readily available to be invaluable both for the recipes that I can find and the substitution recommendations.

    • Thanks for stopping by. My fav cookbook has to the be the Gluten Free 101. I’ve cooked a little out of Against All Grains, and will be tonight. Korean Beef bowls. Stop back by and see how they came out.
      T

Leave a Reply

