K for Korean Beef Noodle Bowls

A to Z Blog Challenge

A to Z Blog Challenge

This week I’m working out of the “Against All Grains” cookbook by Gluten Free GURU Danielle Walker.

A to Z Blog Challenge

A to Z Blog Challenge

I used a nice cut of meat that had little marbling (because I have a picky sensory integration kid). This recipe takes some prep time to marinate. So, that was done early. The recipe calls for 1 pound flank steak, but we’re feeding 6. I bought two pounds and then exaggerated most of the ingredients with a dash more of this and a teaspoon more of that. Red pepper flakes were in the recipe, but I left those off also. Sadly, some of us can’t tolerate. The noodles, well, they are zucchini or zoodles.

Prep time says 20 minutes. It took me a little longer because 1) I’m just getting used to the veggie spiralizer and which blades to use, and  2) I had to pick the stems off all the spinach (because the picky sensory integration kid gets his weirdness from his mother).

I did not use a wok, but I do have this wonderful Food Network, gigantic, non-stick pan for just such occasion. I left out coconut aminos, because honestly, I don’t know what they are and I haven’t been able to locate in any store. I left out coconut crystals and/or honey, because, lets face it, gluten free cooking contains A LOT OF SUGAR! And while we’ve adjusted to the GF dance, a diabetic coma often looms, fixing one problem by replacing it with another.

Beef BowlsSince there was only enough “bowl” left for one leftover, I would say this was a big hit!

Leave a Reply

