N for Nilla Wafers

NLet me just start of saying Nilla! Not Vanilla Wafers. Nilla.

Now that we have cleared that up, don’t bring me no store brand junk. Bring me a hunk-a-hunk-a burning love Nilla Wafers.Real Nilla Wafers

I’ll take mine with sliced bananas and Hershey’s Chocolate Syrup please and thank you! That’s how I survived pregnancy… all four times. Yes, I passed my glucose test every time! How do you eat your Nilla wafers? Pop them whole? Nibble like a squirrel? Dipped in coffee? Milk? One box for the kids and one stashed in your secret hiding spot. Just me? Are they like our house – an open box is an empty box.

Gluten Free Nilla Wafers though? Back to the new cookbook. Aren’t you excited I moved on to a new one? This is so much fun. I already mentioned I made Oatmeal Creme Pies from this one. That’s tomorrow’s blog.

We can file this one under N for Nabisco or N for Nilla. Whatever floats you cookie boat.

What they are supposed to look like!

What they are supposed to look like!

I thought I followed the recipe to a tee. Except for that part where the chef/author wants you to use a digital scale to measure ingredients. My scale is an old Weight Watchers scale, not really sure how accurate is is. Didn’t use. Measured ingredients as carefully as I could. I used the recommended flour blend (I thought). There are a few listed. Cup4Cup or Cup4Cup All purpose and others. This recipe actually called for the All Purpose and I used the other. Strike ONE against me!

This recipe also calls for cooking with unbleached parchment paper. I’m always one to try different pans. So, I used one pan with paper and two cooking stones. Being Nilla Wafers, the cookie is supposed to harden upon cooling.

In the pan with paper, I made very small one inch cookies as suggested. The recipe also calls for using a piping bag to make these small treats. I’m old. I mean old school. I don’t have a piping bag. I’ve taken a cake decorating class but it was not my bag. I gave away all the tools. Back to old school – I used a Ziplock back with the bottom corner cut out. Apparently, the hole was not big enough, so the pressure of the bag made the dough pipe out in two “pipes”.  I ended up handling every cookie, anyway. Other recommendations are to oil up your hands and do it the old fashioned way. Did I say old again?!

SONY DSC

How they really turned out!

The house smells delectable. The tall kid who lives in my house came out of the basement to see if I was cooking our favorite Christmas cookies Pecan Sandies.

Smell test: PASS!

Beauty Test: FAIL! Must invest in piping bag again if I’m to make many recipes from this book.

Taste Test: AWESOME! You can’t really go wrong with 4 teaspoons of vanilla extract.

Texture Test: Fail. BUT, it was my fault. I will try with the RIGHT flour blend next time.

Frequency Test: YES, I will make these again. Cough, cough, and follow the rules!

2 thoughts on “N for Nilla Wafers

Leave a Reply

