T is for Things That Didn’t Make It/Shouldn’t Make It

TThis blog is dedicated to all the food that didn’t make it to the blog this month. That is, the EPIC fails, the didn’t start with the right letters, and the OH MY what are those things.

TostadaTortillas. Mostly tostada looking things. I hadn’t used my iron skillet in a while. A little prep a few days ahead to season it would have helped these ugly things tremendously.

They started out as tortillas, but I couldn’t get the dough thin enough to where they wouldn’t fall apart. So, I rolled with it, hince they became tostadas. (See where I went?)

Next came the Seafood Stew. I already had a wonderful guest blogger writing Support for S. Which was great by the way! (Props K) Plus the fact that it couldn’t really be called seafood stew since it only had crab meat. Imitation. I had to be careful because Allergy Boy can’t have many white fishes.Seafood Pie

This recipe came from Go Gluten Free magazine (purchased from Vitamin Cottage). The ingredients list called for all kinds of yummy seafood: scallops, shrimp and lobster. Well folks, this country girl  is smack dab in the middle of the country, literally, the United States one. Good ole, Elizabeth, CO. No seas or seafood around here worth eating.

Crab it is! Top it off with a delicious gluten free crust made from cream cheese, which made a wonderful combination with the crab.Seafood pie plate

There was double  dipping going on at my house that night. Only enough leftovers out of that huge pot for one day for me and the tall kid who lives at my house.

Then there were the macaroons. You know when you find some packaged delight at the store and say “I can make that”? Well, STOP SAYING THAT!!

Macaroons need to be left to the professionals, people with stoves that cook at the right temperature, people who buy normal shredded unsweetened coconut (not Hulk sized like I did), people with piping bags that Hulk sized coconut will go through. I’m just saying.macaroon2

macaroonThis recipe brought to you by the internet. You know everything on the internet is true, right? Just ask me, I’m a Gluten Free Chef. I’m on the internet.

One thought on “T is for Things That Didn’t Make It/Shouldn’t Make It

  1. Brave you! . . . for trying and for sharing results. ❤
    Huzzah! We’ve made it almost to Z! I hope you had fun, read interesting things, and had lots of visitors!
    There will be an A to Z Reflections round on May 4th with a Linky posted on the main blog http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com
    You may post your reflections on the challenge, visit others, and catch up on the blogs you didn't have time to read.

Leave a Reply

