Pantzer, Plotter or Plantzer… Plotzner?

Writer friends know, if you’re a Pantzer, your motto is similar to that of Nike – Just Do It. Command line, typing, clicking, words, many words. Get er’ done, or get er’ down, I guess. Lovers of NaNoWriMo. Don’t look up, skip dinner, who cares about your blood sugar.

Or, if you are a Plotter, you have notebooks full of superfluous data, time-lines, maps, characterizations, and Grandma’s family Bible. Small library districts are funded by your overdue fees. You may even be on a Homeland Security list for googling your favorite religion, weapon, or psychosis.

My daughter, often referred here on the blog and on Facebook as WriterGirl, will start a homeschool assignment with a minimum goal of 10 chapters. Lofty goals. Full of dialog. She writes like she talks. When scientific data says a woman has 30,000 words to use in a day, WriterGirl must be at least 2 or 3 women. I would call her a Plantzer. She knows where she’s going, has a story arc in mind, but allows for flow, twists, and fun.

Her mother? Plotter. Definitely. The internet is my friend, although, I do not use and won’t allow my kids to use Wiki for ANY resource.

So, I’ve downloaded the free trial version of Scrivner to test. (which I had to have the Knight put wine on my Linux laptop to be able to run Windows programs. Stay tuned to see if I have to manipulate this any) (The adding of the other kind of wine may be required, also) I will put the WriterGirl’s last story in to try it out.

Here’s what Scrivener says about their product:win-showcase-scrivener_header

Scrivener is a powerful content-generation tool for writers that allows you to concentrate on composing and structuring long and difficult documents. While it gives you complete control of the formatting, its focus is on helping you get to the end of that awkward first draft.

I may blog through this process. Any followers be forewarned. I may be recovering soon from 3 ring binder hoarding disease.

4 thoughts on “Pantzer, Plotter or Plantzer… Plotzner?

  1. Pingback: Pantzer, Plotter or Plantzer… Plotzner? | J.A. Stinger

  2. The awesome thing about Scrivener is that you can keep all your research in one place along with your writing! 🙂 It’s wonderful. And you can import a webpage too, so if you don’t want to retype what you find, you can just import the entire page! 🙂 I love it, personally. Will never go back to Word.

    As for plotting vs. pantsing, I started as a pantser and have migrated over toward plotting. Scrivener helps me keep everything straight. I’m definitely curious to how you find it works for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

