Thanksgiving Tryouts

Just a little break from the 30 People Challenge while I try out a new-ish recipe. The Thanksgiving meal plan is made. The grocery list is in the spreadsheet. Now I just have to make sure I’m not going to poison anyone with any new recipes. This will be our first GF Thanksgiving. Pray for us. We might be thankful we don’t all choke. Just kidding.Pie crust.jpg

The Nanny found a pie crust mix at the Vitamin Cottage made with sorghum flour. Sorghum is its main flour. I haven’t used sorghum yet, mix or otherwise. It has a nutty smell.

                    Unless you were raised in the South, sorghum isn’t an ingredient  you’ve  encountered often — if at all. A couple of generations ago, sorghum was a staple sweetener in the South. It was cheap, plentiful and often went by the name of sorghum molasses. (http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/10/30/sorghum-syrup-grain-super_n_6063016.html

The article goes on to say:

Sorghum is a cereal grain that grows tall like corn, and it is used for a lot more than just sweetening. First and foremost, in the United States, sorghum is used as livestock feed and turned into ethanol. 

 There you go. Sorghum is The whole grain kernel is ground into a flour that can be used for cooking and baking. It is high in protein, iron, and dietary fiber, making sorghum flour. So, you could say that my apple pie is good for you. Nutritious. Healthy. I’m sure the FDA would not be happy about that claim. Protein, iron, fruit from the apples? Sound like a great pyramid to me.

Sorghum, though, as a flour has quite a different consistency than any other flours. Like I said, the Nanny picked up a mix. I rolled with that. (HA!)

Raw apple pieIt’s dry. It’s thick. When the directions say roll thin, do. It even smells different while baking.

 

 

My taste testers have approved. I would recommend the mix, just make sure you add enough water to roll the crust thinner than I did. (unless you have lots of vanilla ice cream on hand. Then, by all means, make it as thick as you like)

As you can see, it turned out pretty thick. If you are one my regular readers, you’ll know I didn’t quite go by the directions either. I did not bake the crust before I baked the pie. That may have solved some dry issues. But again, the dough was even thick and dry and the directions said it would be. Don’t blame me.20151119_123306

 

 

Also, if you have followed me for any length of time, you know I will not recreate the wheel, mess with perfection and other analogies I can’t come up with now. I cheated and used canned apple pie filling. YES, it’s gluten free. As for the results:

20151119_123925

MMMMMMMMMMM

Leave a Reply

