Homeschool Journals

Darned Pinterest, Facebook and other blog sites that tempt me to change up how I homeschool. Let’s admit it! We all try not to do it. comparison-trap

This year I decided to scrap the planner (even though I purchased it, just in case, you know). I gave up the last few years of printed spreadsheets for each of the kids, kept and shoved in a binder the best I could keep track. I used them in pretense I would know individual progress. NOT! Stepped on, dog eared, dog eaten, lost, and or otherwise destroyed in the war with the homeschool bucket. You know the one purchased at the beginning of the school year “to stay organized” or “to keep everything in one place”.

I turned ALL that in this year for a … wait for it…

spiral

Yep! That’s it! A spiral notebook! Ten cents! Because you know, my mom works at the Wally World. (BTW: I never shop during back-to-school days)

I recently read an article … don’t remember where… see earlier statement – darned Facebook, Pinterest, Instagram, Twitter. Weapons of mass distraction, but I digress.

Women all over Organized women Desperate Women are turning to bullet journals. Articles, how-to’s and “My versions” everywhere!!! HOURS later, I dragged out ye ol’ spiral and just BEGAN!

Every day I write their lessons plans. As a matter of fact, YES, at first it sounds ineffective, no goal oriented, and overall a cop out! NOPE!

Guess what I get out of this deal? I track attendance days without counting and keeping track of ONE MORE SPREADSHEET! I get to slow down, speed up, question productivity, question understanding. I get to track History, Reading, Science, Vocabulary, Math, Timelines, Map Skills, Science, Grammar (they have to write answers right in the book – ALL ONE PAGE (or two). I get a clearer understanding DAILY where my kids are. (and practice writing sentences with dangling participles) I (they) get a transcript at the end of the year, not a scramble, not a week long gathering, no anxiety, no hair pulling.

Guess what the kids get out of this deal? No more lost spreadsheets, one stop shopping lesson plans, less mess in their said buckets, more time with mom to discuss lesson plans, history and the difference in the executive branches.

Guess what the family gets out of this deal? Healthy mommy. Less frustrated mommy. Less mess on the table, floor, in the rooms, in the office. Smaller year end audit bucket.

When and if we decide for the Z’s where each of them, how each of them will DO highschool, I feel I am better prepared this year, more than any other.

Note to parents of OCD/control freak/project oriented children: check boxes, if not properly administered, may be required for checking, filling in or otherwise mass havoc wreaking will ensue. Note to annoying parents like myself: mess with their head and instead of pretty square boxes draw Christmas trees during December… just to mess with their heads spread a little Christmas joy.

Happy Journaling.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Homeschool Journals

  1. Hello Tracy!!!! I stumbled across your blog while checking out the website for the writing conference at Bear Valley church later this month. It was a delightful surprise to see your picture as one of the speakers and then to keep clicking till I got to your blog!

    BTW, this is Barb Mims (formerly of Precept, sitting next to YOU!). I decided I was tired of SO MUCH HOMEWORK, which is why I dropped out after we completed the Genesis study. Doing studies on my own at home, plus preparing for the weekly Sunday School lesson with my hubby who is one of our class teachers….

    It is highly unlikely I can attend the Writing from the Rock conference on Feb. 25th. My calendar for that weekend is already very full. But I am going to keep up with any/all updates you make to your blog.

    As I sign off from this [lengthy] comment, I don’t know how my name will appear here in the comments section. I see this is a WordPress blog. Although I have a WP blog, I navigate much more easily on my blogspot blog. http://MyJournalReflections.blogspot.com

    It’s good to run into you!!

Leave a Reply

